Three Branches of Government Legislative Branch Executive Branch Judícial Branch



Led by the House of representatives \Im (congress) and the senate

Creates nation's laws

Collects taxes

Contains the power to declare war

Established by Article I of the Constitution

The House of Representatives is made up of 435 elected members

The House and the Senate must pass the same bill by majority vote

In order for a bill to become a law, it goes through the legislative process, which means that both Congress and the Senate approve it.



Headed by the President and Cabinet members

Carries out Nation's Laws

Conducts relations with other countries

Appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate

Power to sign legislation from Congress into law or to veto it

Occupant is to enforce and apply the laws in place by Congress

President assigns heads or leaders for federal agencies and departments to work for him

The Cabinet is responsible for the day-to-day enforcement and administration of federal laws



Headed by the Supreme Court and 9 Justices

Hears cases that include criminal and civil courts

Interprets the U.S. Constitution

Protects laws passed by congress

Controls disputes between states

Article III of the Constitution of the United States

Guarantees that every person accused of offence has the right to a fair trial

The Judicial Branch is appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.